Gujarat: The BJP has extended the lead after the Congress gave a tough challenge. The Congress, which exit polls predicted would lose the Gujarat election, seemed to be proving them wrong. At one time, experts and analysts even considered a win for the Congress, which would be a first for them in two decades in Gujarat.

Markets had collapsed with the Sensex going down 850 points, but has recovered the loss and is up 50 points currently. The election in Gujarat is seen as a prestige battle for both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and newly-elected Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

The BJP is ahead in 108/180 seats while the Congress is leading in 71 seats, according to the results available so far.

BJP leading in 97 constituencies, Congress leading in 81.

Election Commission figures show the NCP, Bhartiya Tribal Party and an independent candidate are leading in five seats together.

BJP Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, who was earlier trailing after the count of postal ballots, is now leading in over Congress' Indranil Rajyaguru in Rajkot West seat.

However, Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel is trailing from Mehsana against Congress candidate Jivabhai Patel by 3,000 votes.

Congress leader Arjun Modhwadia is trailing in Porbandar by just 50 votes after counting of three rounds, against BJP leader and fisheries minister Babubhai Bokhiriya.

Congress' Alpesh Thakor is leading in Radhanpur seat against Lavingji Thakor of BJP.

Senior Congress leader Shaktisinh Gohil is trailing against BJP's Virendrasinh Jadeja from Mandvi seat.

State BJP chief Jitu Vaghani is leading over Dilipsinh Gohil of Congress in Bhavnagar West.

The elections for 182-seat Assembly were held on December 9 and 14, after an acrimonious campaign, which was dominated by a face-off between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

In the 2012 elections, the BJP had won 115 seats while the Congress emerged victorious on 61 seats.

The BJP has been in power in the state since 1995, winning consecutive elections in the home state of Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah.

Himanchal Pradesh results till now:

BJP is ahead in 36 seats while the rulling Congress is leading in 21 in Himachal Pradesh, according to early Election Commission trends two hours after counting of votes in the Assembly polls.

Main rivals BJP and Congress contested all the 68 seats at stake.
The hill state witnessed a record 75.28 percent turnout.
The Congress and BJP had 36 and 26 seats respectively in the outgoing House.
Himachal Pradesh has a tradition of change in government after every election and going by the trend, this time it appears to be the turn of the BJP which is upbeat after the exit polls predicted a victory for the saffron party.
Congress veteran and six-time Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and his son Vikramaditya Singh are leading from Arki and Shimla(Rural) respectively, according to early trends available for 60 of the 68 seats. Independents are leading in two constituencies while the CPI(M) is ahead in one.

Related News