Headline • After the UAE, Russia will now give PM Modi the highest civilian honor• India again surprised the world by testing the weapons of space• 17 years later, China felt a big blow economic situation is very weak• Supreme Court gives relief to cricketer Sreesanth in spot-fixing• Aamir Khan gave statement on Kangana Ranaut's resentment• No change in government stand on Article 35A• SP-BSP alliance in Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand• Arjun Kapoor and Abhishek Bachchan praise Akshay Kumar's trailer for the film Kesari• BJP government raises EPF interest rates• Uttarakhand Police urges Kashmiri students not to send inflammatory statements on social media• Kulbhushan Jadhav case starts hearing on Monday• Rajiv Saxena gets interim bail till Feb 22 • Vadra wrote on Facebook, handed Priyanka to the people of India, please keep them safe.• J&K : Attack on CRPF team, 7 security personnel and 4 civilians injured• State strike in Uttar Pradesh is illegal: Allahabad High Court• Mamata Banerjee declares victory on Supreme Court order in West Bengal• Tension in Meerut area after breaking Ambedkar statue• INDvsNZ : India won the series 4-1• I will leave politics even after Modi's retirement : Smriti Irani• Don Ravi Pujari arrested from African country Senegal• "I will be back soon" Union Minister Arun Jaitley• Report of the NSSO's unemployment, at the high level of 45 years• Modi government can give big gift to farmers• Akhilesh welcomes Priyanka Gandhi's political entry• Republic Day 2019 : India's power demonstration on Rajpath

BCCI announces India's World T20 squad

New Delhi:  The BCCI selection committee, headed by Sandeep Patil, on Friday announced the 15-member Indian squad for the World Twenty20 and the preceding Asia Cup.


MS Dhoni (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Shami, Ashish Nehra, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah.

Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah have been retained in the squad.

However, Manish Pandey, India's hero of the 5th ODI against Australia in January, has been ignored by the selectors.
Ajinkya Rahane, who was said to be in contention for the seventh specialist batsman along with Pandey, has got the nod instead.

Sandeep Patil, Chairman of the selection committee, said the BCCI had chosen the team keeping in mind the necessities of the Twenty20 format.

Earlier, Indian skipper MS Dhoni had said after the end of Australia series that the core of team is more or less set and there could only be minor changes in the squad.

The Asia Cup is scheduled to commence from February 24 while the World Cup T20 will be played in India from March 8 to April 3, 2016. This is the first time the Asia Cup is being played in the Twenty-20 format, in a change from the earlier 50-over competitions.

Notably, from February 9, Team India will play a three-game T20 series at home against Sri Lanka, ahead of the multi-nation T20  events. 

Related News