Headline • After the UAE, Russia will now give PM Modi the highest civilian honor• India again surprised the world by testing the weapons of space• 17 years later, China felt a big blow economic situation is very weak• Supreme Court gives relief to cricketer Sreesanth in spot-fixing• Aamir Khan gave statement on Kangana Ranaut's resentment• No change in government stand on Article 35A• SP-BSP alliance in Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand• Arjun Kapoor and Abhishek Bachchan praise Akshay Kumar's trailer for the film Kesari• BJP government raises EPF interest rates• Uttarakhand Police urges Kashmiri students not to send inflammatory statements on social media• Kulbhushan Jadhav case starts hearing on Monday• Rajiv Saxena gets interim bail till Feb 22 • Vadra wrote on Facebook, handed Priyanka to the people of India, please keep them safe.• J&K : Attack on CRPF team, 7 security personnel and 4 civilians injured• State strike in Uttar Pradesh is illegal: Allahabad High Court• Mamata Banerjee declares victory on Supreme Court order in West Bengal• Tension in Meerut area after breaking Ambedkar statue• INDvsNZ : India won the series 4-1• I will leave politics even after Modi's retirement : Smriti Irani• Don Ravi Pujari arrested from African country Senegal• "I will be back soon" Union Minister Arun Jaitley• Report of the NSSO's unemployment, at the high level of 45 years• Modi government can give big gift to farmers• Akhilesh welcomes Priyanka Gandhi's political entry• Republic Day 2019 : India's power demonstration on Rajpath

1st Test: India win toss,choose to bat against South Africa

Mohali: India Test Team captain Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat in the first match of their four-test series against South Africa on Thursday being played at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali, Chandigarh.

Kohli, who turned 26 today, believes winning the toss doesn't mean the Test match is over.

India are going with spinners and Ravichandran Ashwin will lead the spin attack with leg-spinner Amit Mishra and left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja, who returns to the Indian side after a gap of almost 15 months. Umesh Yadav and Varun Aaron are the fast bowlers.

Regular openers Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan have returned to the team after both batsmen suffered injuries during India's last test series in Sri Lanka. They replaced Rohit Sharma and Lokesh Rahul. Cheteshwar Pujara will bat at number three. On the other hand, South Africa will be without the services of Morne Morkel and JP Duminy.  The 20-year-old fast bowler Kagiso Rabada is making his Test debut for South Africa.

"Looks like a pretty good wicket to bat on day one. Just going to look to capitalise on the best batting conditions that are available on day one," Kohli said at the toss.

"Not a bad start. Hopefully we will bat well and it will be a better birthday," he added.

The four-match Test series was preceded by T20I and One-Day International (ODI) series. South Africa won both the series’ and now will be looking to cap off their India tour with a series win in Tests as well.

The Proteas are ranked number 1 in ICC rankings for Tests while India are at 5th spot.

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Varun Aaron, Umesh Yadav

South Africa: Dean Elgar, Stiaan van Zyl, Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla (captain), AB de Villiers, Dane Vilas (w), Vernon Philander, Simon Harmer, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir (Writing by Sudipto Ganguly in Mumbai; editing by Greg Stutchbury)

Related News