Sri Lanka rolled over at 205,  2nd Test, Day 1: Spinners, Ishant Hand India Advantage On Day 1

Nagpur: India were 11 for one in reply to Sri Lanka's 205 at the close on the opening day of the second Test in Nagpur on Friday. Sri Lanka were bowled out for 205 runs with R Ashwin taking four wickets. Ishant Sharma picked 3 wickets. Lahiru Gamage bowled Lokesh Rahul for seven, Murali Vijay on two, and Cheteshwar Pujara on two, were batting with India trailing by 194 runs. Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin stood out for India with four wickets while Sri Lanka skipper Dinesh Chandimal top-scored with 57. The toss was won by Sri-Lanka and the visitors elected to bat first.

Going into the second game, India was brimming with confidence with the form of skipper Virat Kohli, whose fighting 50th international hundred in trying conditions at the Eden almost sealed the deal in the hosts' favour. Besides Kohli, the middle order comprising Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha also looked in good shape during the first match. Expect some changes from India with Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shikhar Dhawan both out.

It was a day for Indian spinners at Nagpur as both Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja combined together to trouble Sri Lankan middle-order. The visitors were bowled out for 205 with Ashwin taking four in the day, while his left-arm partner taking 3. In a day, Ishant Sharma proved to be the suprise package of the day. The right-arm bowler took 3 wickets, including the crucial wicket of Dimuth Karunaratne just after the opener scored his 14th Test fifty. Sri Lankan skipper showed a small fight back, scoring his half century, but became a victim to Ashwin on 57. Coming in to bat for India, KL Rahul and Murali Vijay tried to play out the remaining few overs. But Rahul got out cheaply after he went after a loose delivery from Lahiru Gamage outside off which found a thick edge and got his stumps rattled.

That's it for Day 1, India 11/1 trailing by 194 runs after 8 overs but they will be happy with their bowling effort. Dismissing Sri Lanka for 205 on what was a good batting pitch, except for KL Rahul's early dismissal, the day has truly belonged to Virat Kohli and his men. India will now looking to bat big in the first innings, to ensure they don't have to face Herath in the 4th.

Teams (from): India: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav and Rohit Sharma.

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Angelo Mathews, Dimuth Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Suranga Lakmal, Dasun Shanaka, Viswa Fernando, Lahiru Gamage, Lakshan Sandakan, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dilruwan Perera and Roshen Silva.

Related News