Headline • After the UAE, Russia will now give PM Modi the highest civilian honor• India again surprised the world by testing the weapons of space• 17 years later, China felt a big blow economic situation is very weak• Supreme Court gives relief to cricketer Sreesanth in spot-fixing• Aamir Khan gave statement on Kangana Ranaut's resentment• No change in government stand on Article 35A• SP-BSP alliance in Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand• Arjun Kapoor and Abhishek Bachchan praise Akshay Kumar's trailer for the film Kesari• BJP government raises EPF interest rates• Uttarakhand Police urges Kashmiri students not to send inflammatory statements on social media• Kulbhushan Jadhav case starts hearing on Monday• Rajiv Saxena gets interim bail till Feb 22 • Vadra wrote on Facebook, handed Priyanka to the people of India, please keep them safe.• J&K : Attack on CRPF team, 7 security personnel and 4 civilians injured• State strike in Uttar Pradesh is illegal: Allahabad High Court• Mamata Banerjee declares victory on Supreme Court order in West Bengal• Tension in Meerut area after breaking Ambedkar statue• INDvsNZ : India won the series 4-1• I will leave politics even after Modi's retirement : Smriti Irani• Don Ravi Pujari arrested from African country Senegal• "I will be back soon" Union Minister Arun Jaitley• Report of the NSSO's unemployment, at the high level of 45 years• Modi government can give big gift to farmers• Akhilesh welcomes Priyanka Gandhi's political entry• Republic Day 2019 : India's power demonstration on Rajpath

13 Legislative Council seats Polling begins in UP

On Friday, the voting for the 13 seats of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council begins.

The voting was preceded by hectic lobbying till late Thursday with both the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Congress spreading out a lavish dinner for its legislators.

The ruling SP has named Balram Yadav, Jagjivan Prasad, Kamlesh Pathak, Bukkal Nawab, Yashwant Singh, Ram Sunder Das Nishad, Ranvijay Singh and Shatrudra Prakash as its candidates.

The BSP has nominated Atar Singh Rao, Suresh Kashyap and Dinesh Chandra for the polls and the Congress has named Deepak Singh.

On the other side, BJP candidates include Bhupendra Singh and Daya Shanker Singh as their candidates.

SP needs 232 MLA's votes to sail through its eight candidates but there are reports of a bunch of them having decided to cross-vote.

Whereas, The BSP has fielded three candidates and has 80 legislators. It needs seven extra votes.

There has been a rumour that the SP party hosted a dinner for MLA's late on Thursday and even SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav has been actively involved in "management".

Related News