Headline • Rigged online polls at direction of Donald Trump, says Michael Cohen • IRCTC scam cases: Delhi court extends Lalu Prasad's interim bail till Jan 28 • Opposition leaders descend on Kolkata for Mamata Banerjee's anti-BJP rally today • Meghalaya,The navy team removed the body of a laborer from a depth of 200 feet after 36 days• BJP president Amit Shah admitted to AIIMS for for Treating Swine Flu• Redmi Note 7 pro details revealed, launch likely in February• Donald Trump nominated three influential Indian-Americans to powerful administration positions• BJP suffered a loss of face in Karnataka on Wednesday• Armed Robbers Loot Passengers in two coaches of Jammu-Delhi Duronto Express in Delhi• SC rejects five states' application on appointment of DGP• Health department issue swine flu alert in Ghaziabad• Bollywood celebs urges their fans to donate for Kerala flood• Kerala flood: Death toll rises to 324, fresh red alert in 13 districts of Kerala• Former PM Vajpayee cremated with full state of honours in Smriti Sthal• People pays tribute during Varanasi's ganga arti to Former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee• Bollywood celebs took twitter to express their pain on Former PM's demise • Mortal remains of Former PM Vajpayee being taken to Smriti Sthal • As a mark of respect, several states declares public holiday on Atalji's demise• Neighbouring country Pakistan pays tribute to Former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee• Huge crowd gathers at BJP HQ, pays tribute to the mortal of former PM Vajpayee• PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi and others visited Vajpayee's residence, pays tribute• The Former PM and BJP stalwart Atal Bihari Vajpayee dies at 93• Truck crushes bike rider to death in Uttar Pradesh• Gujarat's Sterling Biotech owner held in Dubai for 5000 cr fraud case• Gold and Satyameva Jayate records their highest day 1 collecttion, at the box office

Rajasthan: In a Rajasthan-West Bengal by-elections, Congress won Rajasthan’s Mandalgarh seat and two Lok Sabha seats Ajmer and Alwar. TMC won Naopara in West Bengal. Counting of votes was underway on Thursday, for the bye-elections that were held in Rajasthan and West Bengal on Monday.

In Rajasthan, bye-elections were held in total of 3 seats, two in Lok Sabha seats Alwar and Ajmer and one Assembly constituency Mandalgarh. All three seats fell vacant in 2017, following the deaths of the incumbents, Ajmer’s MP Sanwar Lal Jat, Mandalgarh MLA Kirti Kumari and Alwar MP Mahant Chand Nath.

A total of 42 candidates were in the fray for the Three seats.

By defeating Bharatiya Janata Party contender Vasundhara Raje in Rajasthan, Congress Vivek Dhakad won the Mandalgarh Assembly constituency by 12,976 votes.

Congress also maintained a significant lead as, Its candidate Karan Singh Yadav leads with  2,66,814 votes in Alwar after 43.68% vote count. BJP’s Jaswant Singh run second with 2,06,879 votes.

In Ajmer, the Congress was ahead of the BJP by 45000 votes. Its candidate Raghu Sharma was leading with 1,54,336 votes.

Earlier, Rajasthan Congress president Sachin Pilot said “I hope our leads will increase”, “Vasundhara Raje and her government have been totally rejected by people.”

In West Bengal elections held for the Uluberia Lok Sabha seat and the Noapara Assembly seat, both necessitated again by the deaths of the incumbents.

In Noapara, the Trinamool Congress’ Sunil Singh won the bye-elections with 3.6 lakhs votes. The BJP’s Sandip Banerjee came second receiving 38,711 votes, followed by Gargi Chaterjee of the CPI (M) with 35,487 votes and the Congress Gautam Bose received 10,527 votes. More than 3,400 people voted for None of the Above option in Noapara.

In Uluberia, the TMC’s Sajda Ahamed, widow of lawmaker Sultan Ahmed, bagged 5,88211 votes over Anupam Mallik of the BJP.

Related News