Headline • Who has seen that film: Kangana Ranaut on Hrithik Roshan's Mohenjo Daro• Harris joins 2020 U.S. Presidential race• Accused Mehul Choksi surrenders his Indian passport • Siddaganga Seer Shivkumar Swami dies at the age of 111• Amazon Great Indian sale: Great Deals of the three days• Sensex up 250 points, Nifty tests 10,950• Mexico's fuel pipeline blast figure to be dated Increased to 85• Opposition coalition is of negativity and corruption: PM Modi• Rigged online polls at direction of Donald Trump, says Michael Cohen • IRCTC scam cases: Delhi court extends Lalu Prasad's interim bail till Jan 28 • Opposition leaders descend on Kolkata for Mamata Banerjee's anti-BJP rally today • Meghalaya,The navy team removed the body of a laborer from a depth of 200 feet after 36 days• BJP president Amit Shah admitted to AIIMS for Treating Swine Flu• Redmi Note 7 pro details revealed, launch likely in February• Donald Trump nominated three influential Indian-Americans to powerful administration positions• BJP suffered a loss of face in Karnataka on Wednesday• Armed Robbers Loot Passengers in two coaches of Jammu-Delhi Duronto Express in Delhi• SC rejects five states' application on appointment of DGP• Health department issue swine flu alert in Ghaziabad• Bollywood celebs urges their fans to donate for Kerala flood• Kerala flood: Death toll rises to 324, fresh red alert in 13 districts of Kerala• Former PM Vajpayee cremated with full state of honours in Smriti Sthal• People pays tribute during Varanasi's ganga arti to Former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee• Bollywood celebs took twitter to express their pain on Former PM's demise • Mortal remains of Former PM Vajpayee being taken to Smriti Sthal

Congress nominates Raj Babbar  for RS from Uttarakhand

Dehradun: Congress declared leader Raj Babbar as the Congress candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat from Uttarakhand, making his return to Parliament after his defeat in the 2014 general elections.

The decision by the Congress came on Monday night. Mr. Babbar will land here in the afternoon and file the papers, on Tuesday — the last day of filing nomination forms for the Rajya Sabha seat.

Former Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna and Uttarakhand Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) president Kishore Upadhyaya were also in the race for the candidature. However, owing to the infighting within the Congress here, an “outsider” was selected by the party high-command, Congress sources here, said.

The Rajya Sabha seat from Uttarakhand had fallen vacant following the death of Manorama Dobriyal Sharma, who was elected to the Rajya Sabha in November, last year. The by-election for the seat will be held on March 20.

Related News