Lucknow: BSP supremo Mayawati's confidante Naseemuddin Siddiqui alongwith other candidates today filed nominations for the election to the 12 seats of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council to be held on January 23.

Besides Siddiqui, Dharmveer Singh Ashok and Pradeep of the BSP filed their nominations before the Principal Secretary Legislative Assembly (or Vidhan Sabha) and Returning Officer Pradeep Dubey.

Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) had declared candidates for the biennial election to Legislative Council (or Vidhan Parishad), the upper house of the bicameral legislature on January 4.

According to the announcement made by Samajwadi Party, state Health Minister Ahmad Hasan, Ramesh Yadav, Ramjatan Rajbhar, Sahab Singh Saini, Ashok Bajpai, Virendra Singh Gurjar, Sarojini Agarwal and Ashu Mallik are the party candidates.

Twelve members including seven from BSP, three from ruling SP and two from the BJP, are retiring on January 30, which include both the Leader of the Upper House Ahmad Hasan and Leader of the Opposition Naseemuddin Siddiqui.

Others who will be retiring include Ramesh Yadav and Dr Sarojni Agarwal (SP), Ashok Kumar Sidharth, Dr Om Prakash Bharti, Pratap Singh Baghel, Mahesh Arya and Lokesh Prajapati (all BSP), and Baburam M.Com and Vinod Pandey (both BJP).

As per the strength of 403 members of the state Assembly, around 33 members will be electing one MLC each and since the ruling Samajwadi Party has 230 members, it will be the major gainer expecting to win at least seven members.

The party wise strength in UP assembly is

The state assembly includes 230 members of SP, 80 members of BSP, 41 members of BJP, 28 members of Congress, 8 members of RLD, 4 members of Peace party, 2 of Quami Ekta Dal and Nationalist Congress Party, Apna Dal, Etehad-e-Millat Council and Trinamool Congress one each and Independent six.


Related News